Details & Early Benchmarks of OpenCL accelerated SQLite on ARM Mali

Tom Gall

I’ve done some more tuning over the past couple of days. I’ve also done some reading about how to make OpenCL perform better on ARM Mali.  In this post I’m going to retrace some of my steps, share what my tests looks like, share what some of my OpenCL looks like, share current performance numbers and last discuss next steps.

Gentle Reminder

This is in many ways still a prototype / proof of concept. My early goals are to get a very good sense what the possible performance of an OpenCL accelerated SQLite would be for the general case.  From this prototype I want to be able to iterate to complete implementation.

 Performance Testing the Prototype

I’m comparing the c apis that SQLite provides as well as my own API that I’ve developed. My API works with the same data structures and is compiled with the SQLite source code. I’m…

View original post 1,973 more words

Leave a Reply

